2020 Charles J. Colgan Scholarship

The VABA Scholarship Committee has made a decision for the 2020 Charles J. Colgan Aviation and Aerospace Scholarship. Our winner is from Spotswood High School in Rockingham County.


Congratulations goes to Ethan Barnhart! 


Due to COVID-19, members of the scholarship committee, VABA President, Bud Oakey and other staff members met with Ethan via video conference to congratulate him on a job well done. While we enjoy meeting our scholarship winners in person, this was a great opportunity for us to meet Ethan virtually and hear his enthusiasm for aviation and aerospace.

Not only does Ethan perform at a high level academically, he is also an outstanding student athlete. Participating in football and wrestling, he has received All-District and All-Region honors and holds a school record for rushing. His character shines brightly both on and off the field. This is how Ethan has been described by his teachers:

“There is something incredibly special about Ethan Barnhart. He is a student that I will remember for the rest of my life. He has proven character and integrity. Ethan is a remarkable young man and I consider it a privilege to have taught him.”

“During Ethan's time at Spotswood, I have watched him grow into a young man of dignity, humility, and a person who understands the meaning of being an honorable person. These traits come naturally and are never forced whether he is in the academic setting or on the field of competition. This authenticity has earned him a large measure of respect from his classmates, teammates, and from the SHS faculty and staff.”

“Thank you for being a student that works towards success in all that you do without a "look at me" mentality. Just as important, thank you for being a young man who accepts the well-earned accolades with grace and humility while always thanking those who have helped you to get to this point in your life.”

Ethan will be attending Averett University as a student athlete playing football and majoring in Aerospace Management with a concentration in Flight Operations. His plans also include ground school followed by flying lessons to obtain a private pilot’s license.

The VABA warmly congratulates Ethan on this achievement and we wish him much success in the future. 

As always, this scholarship brings out many talented and deserving Virginia students. We appreciate all of the applications that were submitted and wish each student the very best of luck moving forward.

About the Charles J. Colgan Scholarship

The annual Charles J. Colgan Scholarship, in the amount of $2,000 (Two Thousand Dollars), is awarded to a well deserving Virginia resident High School, Technical School Senior or College/University Undergraduate who is pursuing an aviation related career at an accredited institution. The scholarship will be paid directly to the institution in the name of the awardee. Information for 2021 submissions will be announced in January 2021.

Contact Us!

Virginia Aviation Business Association

1011 E Main Street

Suite 400

The Ironfronts Building

Richmond, VA 23219


(804) 525-1144

Name *

Email *